Fun Friday Frolicking with Niki

(Too bad Niki’s name didn’t start with an “f’.) 😉

On Friday, I waited at Waterstone’s in Notting Hill to meet Niki. I took a cab, and when double checking with Niki on where to meet her, I’d accidentally said, “Nottingham.” She laughed and said if I ended up in Nottingham, she couldn’t help me. I was so paranoid that I triple-checked with the poor cabbie to make sure I had said “Notting HILL” and that he’d understood me. The cabbies here in London are all so polite and so helpful. When he couldn’t find the original store I was supposed to meet Niki in front of, he seemed reluctant to drop me off. I assured him that I would text her to give her my new location.

Of course I went into Waterstones (bookstore) to shop! I ended up buying a book (more on that later). No surprise.

We stopped for a fabulous lunch here:

I had the most amazing mussels with penne pasta!  We skipped dessert (more about this later – I know I’m a tease). Then, we spent the afternoon shopping! Great fun! (yes yes, more details later!)

After we were shopped out, Niki and I stopped for drinks at The Providores and Tapa Room on Marylebone High Street. She introduced me to these amazing tapas:

Pepinos – something or other. I can’t recall the name of these Spanish tapas of roasted peppers with salt. They were amazing and not too spicy!

When Bob finished up with his conference, he met us here. It was Friday night past 6 PM and we were sitting outside enjoying our drinks! Why did we choose to sit outdoors? This place requested that any four-legged companions dine outdoors. Good thing it was a warm enough evening. Here we are posing with Tank. He’s just so adorable!

More about our trip, soon!

-posted by Debbi

Categories: books, Good Eats, London | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Fun Friday Frolicking with Niki

  1. traveljen

    sounds like a fun day!

  2. It was! It feels strange to be home so quickly!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

