Portobello Market

Thanks to Jama of Alphabet Soup for suggesting that I check out Portobello Market while I was in London. Niki was more than happy to take me there on Friday afternoon.

It wasn’t too crowded on an early Friday afternoon. I hear it gets jammed-packed crazy on Saturdays. I’m not a huge fan of crowds, so I was happy to avoid that. I had been expecting more of a market-style area with stalls, but mostly it was cobblestone streets lined with quaint boutiques and souvenir trinket shops. There were a few stalls set up, along the street as well.  If you’re wondering why I didn’t take more photos, then I must admit, I was very distracted by shopping! I saw some great embroidered pillows that I would have bought if I had room in my suitcase. I did buy a cute purple Italian purse, and a pink leather coin purse. I also saw some fabulous teacups, but again, no room in the suitcase. Next time I need to bring an extra bag to lug all my finds home. (Or ship them back. That’s a possibility!)

-posted by Debbi (of course, since I’m the one who loves to shop!)

Categories: London, shopping | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Portobello Market

  1. traveljen

    fun!

  2. Glad you made it there. I’m with you on avoiding crowds, but Saturday is still the best day for Portobello Road. More tables set up outside, etc. More eccentrics! Nice you found a few things to bring home. 🙂

    • Might have been cool to check it out – but I think Bob would have preferred spending our Sat at the food market as we did. 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

